North Carolina Teenager Car Insurance: Everything You Need To Know
In 2010, there were 218 fatal crashes involving teen drivers. Over the past five years, accidents involving teen drivers claimed 1,283 lives in North Carolina. To combat this tragic problem, North Carolina has adopted a three-stage graduated licensing system.
Compare Several Quotes For Maximum Savings
When Can Teens Drive in North Carolina?
You can begin shopping for North Carolina teenager car insurance when your child is 15 years old. At this time, he or she is eligible to receive a learner’s permit. After one year of experience, your teen will be able to move up to the intermediate stage. During this time, your teen may NOT drive between 9 p.m. and 5 a.m. or travel with more than one passenger who is under 21. By 17, your teen could have a full license.
Zero-Tolerance Driving Laws in North Carolina
In the state of North Carolina, it is illegal for underage drivers to operate a motor vehicle under the influence of ANY amount of alcohol. It is also illegal for drivers to TEXT while operating a vehicle. Keep in mind that 20.5 percent of fatal traffic accidents involved young drivers with previous speeding convictions, so put the brakes on your child if he or she receives a ticket.
Buying North Carolina Teenager Car Insurance
There are several ways to lower the cost of adding a teen to your policy:
- Good grade discounts
- Driver Safety Course Completion
- Low mileage discounts
- Driving an old car without collision insurance
- Assuming a higher deductible
While you’re here, why don’t you get a free auto insurance quote to see how much you can expect to pay when you add your teen to a policy?