Michigan Teenager Car Insurance: Everything You Need To Know

When your Michigan teenager reaches 14 years and 8 months of age, it’s time to start thinking about car insurance. For many parents, the idea of their babies behind the wheel can be very scary. Yet, that scare is little compared to the first insurance bill in the mail! If you’re not careful, you could end up paying $1,200 – $4,900 more on your premium.

Why Is Michigan Teen Car Insurance So Expensive?

Statistically speaking, teenagers (first-year drivers especially) are the most likely group to get into an accident. In fact, drivers 16-19 years of age are 4x more likely to be involved in an accident. The good news is that Michigan’s Graduated Drivers’ License system is working on cutting that statistic down.

How Can I Off-Set The Increased Cost of Teen Car Insurance?

There is more good news. You can keep your Michigan car insurance reasonable by shopping around for free quotes online. It is a very competitive market and insurers are hoping to win your business by presenting you with the best bid. Depending on the insurer, you may be able to find discounts for good grades, low mileage, adding multiple cars onto the policy, or having your teen take a driver safety course.

Tips For Young Drivers:

  • Know the law.
  • Don’t drive after 9 p.m.
  • Get more education if you can.
  • Restrict the number of passengers.
  • Wear your safety belt.
  • Do not text while driving.
  • Do not have even a drop of alcohol.
  • Choose a safe vehicle, rather than a “cool” one.
  • Check out the Checkpoints website.